top of page

Santé Awards

Honouring Saskatchewan Leaders
in Health Research

SHRF's annual awards honour those in Saskatchewan’s health research community who inspire us with their drive, leadership, ingenuity and achievement. From advancing new treatments to shaping public policy, these researchers are contributing to the improved health of citizens, enabling a high performing health system, and building a robust culture of health research and innovation in Saskatchewan. 

These awards are presented at the annual Santé Awards celebration,
scheduled for January 25, 2024.

This year marks the 20th annual Santé Awards celebration and SHRF is excited to once again host the awards in-person at the Holiday Inn on College Drive, Saskatoon.

Further details to be announced.

Career Achievement Award Nominations

This award celebrates health research success in Saskatchewan by recognizing someone who has distinguished themselves within the health research community and who has demonstrated significant contributions to the health of our province. 

Selection Process

Candidates are nominated by their peers and considered by an expert panel of national and local experts from a range of fields. 

A minimum of three (3) colleagues, with direct knowledge of the contributions of the nominee, must nominate an individual. Self-nominations as well as the nomination of current SHRF Board members and staff will not be accepted. 

It is not required that the nominee presently resides in Saskatchewan; however, the accomplishments should be related to work completed in the province. 
While the relevance to SK should be addressed, the impacts of the work may be local, national and/or international. 


The deadline for nominations is October 26, 2023.

Excellence Awards

These awards recognize the top-ranked applications from researchers and teams in the past year’s peer-reviewed funding competitions. Applications to SHRF’s research funding competitions are scored according to our rigorous peer review process by committees of active researchers and health professionals.

Selection Process

Determined by the previous year’s peer-reviewed ranking from each SHRF funding competition. No nominations or submissions are required for consideration.

bottom of page